1983: Australia, led by Alan Bond, finally wrested the Cup from the Americans with Australia II. The yacht had an innovative winged keel, the cause of much controversy at the time.

1987: Dennis Connor with Stars & Stripes raced and beat Kookaburra III, taking the trophy back to the States, this time to the San Diego Yacht Club.

1988: New Zealand studied the Deed of Gift and launched a surprise challenge in a yacht with a waterline measurement of 90 ft. But the "big boat" lost to an even more surprising defense — the San Diego Yacht Club's catamaran, Stars & Stripes.

1992: The new AC Class Yacht was introduced and Bill Koch in America 3 (USA 23) successfully defended against Italy's Il Moro di Venezia.

1995: New Zealand came back strong, besting Dennis Connor and Stars & Stripes with some of the largest margins in recent Cup History.

2000: New Zealand again won decisively over Prada from Italy.

2003: Swiss challenger Alinghi won the 31st America's Cup 5-0 with an international crew, restoring the Cup to Europe after 152 years.